[MEI-L] CfP: 11th International Conference on Digital Libraries for Musicology (DLfM 2024)

David M. Weigl weigl at mdw.ac.at
Wed Nov 22 17:15:49 CET 2023

CfP: 11th International Conference on Digital Libraries for Musicology 
(In Association with IAML 2024), June 23-28, 2024 (exact day TBC), 
Stellenbosch University Konservatorium, Stellenbosch, South Africa


DLfM welcomes contributions related to any aspect of digital libraries 
and musicology, including topics related to musical archiving and 
retrieval, cataloguing and classification, musical databases, special 
collections, music encodings and representations, computational 
musicology, or music information retrieval (MIR).

As this will be the first iteration of DLfM taking place on the African 
continent, we strongly encourage proposals from individuals working on 
music in Africa within various disciplines and from a range of 
perspectives, particularly addressing this year's theme:

Musicology of the Global South: The Role of Digital Libraries

The organizing committee especially encourages submissions of papers and 
posters that address this theme, however, we welcome all submissions 
addressing all topics that fall under the scope of DLfM. Specific 
examples of topics traditionally covered at DLfM can be found at 

Previous years' DLfM proceedings have been published in the ACM Digital 
Library through ACM ICPS. Arrangements for the DLfM 2024 are being 
discussed with ACM and will be confirmed in the 2nd Call for Papers. We 
are aware of a growing number of institutional and funder requirements 
for Open Access publication, and recognise that authors will need to 
comply with any policies which apply to them.


* Paper (full paper and short paper) submission deadline: February 12th, 
* Notification of paper acceptance: April 8th, 2024
* Poster submission deadline: April 22nd, 2024
* Camera-ready submission deadline (full and short papers): May 13th, 2024
* Conference registration deadline: June 17th, 2024
* Conference: June 23-28 (exact day TBC), Stellenbosch, South Africa

Note that at least one author must be registered by the conference 
registration deadline in order for accepted submissions to be included 
in the conference programme.


Paper submissions

* Paper length: We invite full papers (up to 8 pages excluding 
references) or short papers (up to 4 pages excluding references).
* Submissions: work is submitted to DLfM via EasyChair 
* Format: Submissions must be in English, formatted according to the 
appropriate ACM template (see template below), in PDF format, and A4 
size. Authors will need to follow ACM's instructions for formatting 
carefully. Assistance will be provided from the proceedings chair.
* Templates: Authors must use either the LaTeX template 
use the 'sigconf', 'review', and 'anonymous' settings for initial 
submission), the LaTeX + Overleaf template 
use the 'review' and 'anonymous' settings for initial submission), or 
the MS Word template 
Historically, LaTeX versions have been easier to process into 
camera-ready versions. Therefore, we encourage all authors to use the 
LaTeX (or LaTeX + Overleaf) template if possible.
* Page limits for submitted papers apply to all text, excluding the 
bibliography (i.e., references can be included on pages over the 
specified limits).

Poster submissions

* Submission: The initial poster submission consists of an abstract 
which outlines both the scholarly content and broad details of the 
proposed layout in 500 words or fewer. This is to be sent by e-mail to 
dlfm2024 at easychair.org
* Format: Information on printed poster formats will be provided on 
acceptance of the poster abstract. All accepted posters will also be 
required to submit a digital copy before the conference date to be 
shared publicly on the conference web page.

Review and Ethics

Papers (long and short) will be double blind peer reviewed by at least 3 
members of the programme committee. For accepted paper submissions, at 
least one author must register for the conference (as a presenter) by 
the conference registration deadline.

DLfM conforms to the usual conventions for publication ethics. For 
instance, we endeavour to provide an effective reviewing process that is 
fair to all submissions, with reviews from experts in the subject area. 
In turn, we expect authors to ensure anonymity in the original 
submission as far as practically possible, (for instance by not 
uploading the submission to public website and/or removing any currently 
public unpublished preprints while it is under review) and that 
submissions to DLfM are not under active consideration by another 
conference or journal.

Submission link: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=dlfm2024
Contact email: dlfm2024 at easychair.org


Programme Chair
David M. Weigl, mdw - University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna

General Chair
Martha E. Thomae, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa

Proceedings and Publicity Chair
Anna Plaksin, Paderborn University

Local Chair
Beulah Gericke-Geldenhuys, Stellenbosch University

Programme Committee
Claire Arthur, Georgia Institute of Technology
David Bainbridge, University of Waikato
Houman Behzadi, McGill University
J. A. Burgoyne, University of Amsterdam
Jorge Calvo-Zaragoza, University of Alicante
Nathaniel Condit-Schultz, Georgia Institute of Technology
Rachel Cowgill, University of York
Elsa De Luca, CESEM, Universidade Nova de Lisboa
Jürgen Diet, Bavarian State Library
Benjamin Fields, BBC
Ichiro Fujinaga, McGill University
Francesca Giannetti, Rutgers University
Mark Gotham, Durham University
Charles Inskip, University College London
Kjell Lemström, University of Helsinki
David Lewis, Goldsmiths, University of London
Ewa Lukasik, Poznan University of Technology, Institute of Computing Science
Cory Mckay, Marianopolis College
Kevin Page, University of Oxford
Laurent Pugin, RISM Digital Center
Andreas Rauber, Vienna University of Technology
Xavier Serra, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Sandra Tuppen, British Library
Marnix van Berchum, Utrecht University
Raffaele Viglianti, University of Maryland
Sonia Wronkowska, The National Library of Poland

More information about the mei-l mailing list